The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Darkness Reform For Download!
John Doran , March 15th, 2011 05:51

Angry young men of the internet prepare to get even angrier! Your favourite band The Darkness have reformed. Given that Permission To Land was undoubtedly the best rock album of 2003, we're delighted to announce that the original line-up of Justin and Dan Hawkins, Frankie Poullain and Ed Graham are back to perform at this year's Download.

More details soon, but this is what a spokesperson for the festival has to say: "It was announced today that THE DARKNESS, the multi-award winning Brit-rockers from East Anglia, famed for their incredible live shows and whose hits include ‘I Believe In A Thing Called Love’, ‘Growing On Me’, ‘Christmas Time (Don’t Let The Bells End)’ and ‘One Way Ticket’ have reunited after a five year gap and will be performing at the DOWNLOAD FESTIVAL on Friday 10 June.

"This performance - with the original line up of Justin Hawkins, Dan Hawkins, Ed Graham and Frankie Poullain - will mark the band’s first Festival appearance since splitting up in 2006. The Darkness will appear as special guests to headliners Def Leppard on the opening night of the Download Festival.

"Frontman Justin Hawkins said, 'The idea of playing Download terrifies us. We played in an early slot on the main stage in 2003 and we were frightened then. It's reassuring to know that nothing has changed! On a serious note it's the most rockest of festivals and the perfect place for us to begin the next phase of our journey.'

"Def Leppard’s Joe Elliott added, 'About fucking time boys! I am over the moon they have reformed and really pleased they are playing with us at Download. It has the makings of a top night!'"

If you love our features, news and reviews, please support what we do with a one-off or regular donation. Year-on-year, our corporate advertising is down by around 90% - a figure that threatens to sink The Quietus. Hit this link to find out more and keep on Black Sky Thinking.