The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Death Set Return With New Album
The Quietus , November 23rd, 2010 15:03

The Death Set have overcome personal tragedy to return with a new album Michel Poiccard (named after one of the cool stars of Godard's À Bout De Souffle) which will be released via Counter on February 28, 2011.

Beau Velasco and Johnny Siera were a pair of Australian expats who moved to Baltimore earlier this decade. And just as they were about to hit it big with the B-More electro album Worldwide, Velasco, who had struggled with drug addiction on and off throughout his life, died of an overdose.

It wouldn’t have been surprising if the group had decided to call it a day but instead, Johnny Siera, with long time band members Daniel Walker and Jahphet Landis decided to make a new album which was a celebration of Velasco’s life.

They relocated to Brooklyn and enlisted long time friend and Baltimore associate XXXchange (Spank Rock, Kele, The Kills) to man the desk, while they created Michel Poiccard.

If you want to try before you buy, click here to download the Diplo collaboration from the new album 'Yo David Chase! You P.O.V. Shot Me In The Head'.

1 I Wanna Take This Tape And Blow Up Ya Fuckin Stereo
2 Slap Slap Slap Pound Up Down Snap
3 We Are Going Anywhere Man
4 Can You Seen Straight
5 Chew It Like A Gun Gum
6 Is That A French Dog? (feat. Beau Velasco)
7 I Miss You Beau Velasco
8 Michel Poiccard Prefers The Old (She Yearns For The Devil)
9 I Like The Wrong Way
10 A Problem Is A Problem It Don't Matter Where You From
11 Too Much Fun For Regrets
12 Kittens Inspired By Kittens
13 7PM Woke Up An Hour Ago (feat. Spank Rock)
14 It's Another Day
15 Yo David Chase! You P.O.V. Shot Me In The Head (feat. Diplo)
16 I Been Searching For This Song Called Fashion
17 Is It The End Again?