The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Thom Yorke, Michael Stipe and Frank Black Record Tribute Album
Ben Hewitt , July 14th, 2009 11:42

Stars honour Mark Mulcahy

Radiohead singer Thom Yorke, REM frontman Michael Stipe and Pixies supremo Frank Black have all contributed to a covers record for former Miracle Legion and Polaris frontman Mark Mulcahy.

The album, which is called Ciao My Shining Star: The Songs Of Mark Mulcahy and released on September 14 in the UK, will also feature cover versions from Ben Kweller, Mercury Rev and Dinosaur Jr.

The full tracklisting is as follows:

Thom Yorke – 'All For The Best'

The National – 'Ashamed Of The Story I Told'

Michael Stipe – 'Everything's Coming Undone'

David Berkeley – 'Loves The Only Thing That Shuts Me Up'

Dinosaur Jr. – 'The Backyard'

Chris Harford & Mr Ray Neal – 'Micon The Icon'

Frank Black – 'Bill Jocko'

Vic Chesnutt – 'Little Man'

Unbelievable Truth – 'Ciao My Shining Star'

Butterflies Of Love – 'I Have Patience'

Chris Collingwood (Fountains Of Wayne) – 'Cookie Jar'

Frank Turner – 'The Quiet One'

Rocket From The Tombs – 'In Pursuit Of Your Happiness'

Ben Kweller – 'Wake Up Whispering'

Josh Rouse – 'I Woke Up In The Mayflower'

Autumn Defense – 'Paradise'

Hayden – 'Happy Birthday Yesterday'

Juliana Hatfield – 'We're Not In Charleston Anymore'

Mercury Rev – 'Sailors And Animals'

Elvis Perkins – 'She Watches Over Me'

Sean Watkins – 'A World Away From This One'