The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Prince To Release Three New Albums In 2009
The Quietus , January 2nd, 2009 07:50

It seems Prince’s vanishing song antics last week had a point- he has told the LA Times that he’s releasing three new albums this year, and all without the aid of a record company.

First up there’s MPLSOUND- electro-influenced experimental pop songs, produced using Pro-Tools and “new ways of recording”. Second disc Lotus Flower brings Prince’s guitar technique to the fore, in a solo-heavy album that includes some “heavy rockers”.

Lastly, things take a turn for the smooth on Elixir, a collaborative effort with singer Bria Valente, Prince on guitar and chilled beats from Morris Hayes. Expect sexy but not too sexy: "This music is nasty, but it's not dirty... There's no profanity. It isn't promoting promiscuity,” said the Jehovah’s Witness.

He's in final negotiations with "a major retailer" to distribute the music physically, and there’s a “highly interactive” website in the works as well. For now Prince fans can check out the mysterious, currently previewing (but for how long?) what seems to be a track from Elixir.

If you love our features, news and reviews, please support what we do with a one-off or regular donation. Year-on-year, our corporate advertising is down by around 90% - a figure that threatens to sink The Quietus. Hit this link to find out more and keep on Black Sky Thinking.