The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


The Cure Announce New Remix Project
John Doran , August 11th, 2008 11:40

My Chemical Romance, 65daysofstatic, AFI and Fall Out Boy all get to grips with remaking and remodelling songs by The Cure for new EP.

The Cure

Alternative rock overlords The Cure have just announced the release of an EP of remixes, consisting of alternative versions of their first four singles from their upcoming album.

The tracks have been remixed by Gerard way from My Chemical Romance, Pete Wentz and Patrick Stump from Fall Out Boy, Jade Puget from AFI, Jared Leto the Requiem For A Dream actor and 30 Seconds To Mars member as well as members of 65daysofstatic. Paul Wolinski from the latter group describes some of his experiences tearing apart a song by Robert Smith's boys and then rebuilding it in a feature going live on The Quietus later on today (11/08/08).

The Cure are no stranger to the remix project and have worked with several big name dance names in the past such as Francois Kervorkian ('Hot Hot Hot!!!') and Blank and Jones ('A Forest') as well as an official remix album Mixed Up which spawned a big hit in the shape of 'Never Enough'.

The EP, Hypnagogic States (release date September 13), will trail the release of the band's new album which is, of course, released on October 13th through Suretone/Geffen and all artist royalties will go to The International Red Cross.

The full track listing:

'The Only One' - remixed by Jared Leto (30 Seconds to Mars)

'Freakshow' - remixed by Jade Puget (AFI)

'Sleep When I’m Dead' - remixed by Gerard Way (My Chemical Romance) and Julien-K

'The Perfect Boy' - remixed by Pete Wentz and Patrick Stump (Fall Out Boy)

'Exploding Head Syndrome' remixed by 65 Days Of Static

Hear a clip of 'The Perfect Boy' (Mix 13) at