The Quietus - A new rock music and pop culture website


Musicians & tQ Writers On Anti-Fascist Anthems
Luke Turner , October 4th, 2016 08:32

Featuring contributions from Ben Durutti, Penny Rimbaud, Bobby Barry, Jeremy Allen, Ben Myers, Kevin McCaighy, Stewart Smith, Neil Cooper, Matt Evans, Tony F Wilson, Leo Chadburn, Emily Mackay, David Bennun, Phil Harrison, Arnold De Boer, Joel McIver, Russell Cuzner, Jeremy Bolm, John Doran, TV Smith, James Sherry, Jonathan Meades, Tristan Bath, JR Moores, Julian Marszalek, Captain Sensible, Andy Moor, Christine Casey, Nic Bullen and Stewart Lee


The Ex - ‘They Shall Not Pass’

“Los facistas no pasarán. No pasarán!” 'They Shall Not Pass', the first track from The Ex's 1936, The Spanish Revolution double-single and book is a razor sharp avant-punk celebration of the Spanish anarchists' fight against Franco's fascist forces. 'Don't die on your knees, live on your feet, for no-one is a slave, for no-one is a slave,' barks GW Sok over Terry Hessel's buzzsaw guitars and Katrin Bornefeld's industrial motorik rhythms. From being a retrospective lament, the song honours the revolutionary spirit of the 1936 anarchist revolt by speaking to contemporary struggles. The EP it comes from is one of the Dutch anarchist punk band's finest achievements, a total artwork in which the music (which includes a great version of the Republican anthem 'Ay Carmela') is accompanied by a book of essays and previously unpublished photographs of the 1936 revolution.
Stewart Smith